Lollapalooza to Celebrate Postponed 2020 Event With Four-Night Virtual Fest

Lolla2020 will feature classic and newly recorded performances.

Though this year’s Lollapalooza in Chicago will not happen due to COVID-19, Lolla2020 will take place on the original dates for the in-person event on July 30-Aug. 2 with a mix of classic performances and new sets from Alison Wonderland, H.E.R. and Vic Mensa, among others.

The free, four-night broadcast will air exclusively on YouTube beginning at 6:00 p.m. ET every night, with the full schedule of performers slated for reveal on Wednesday (July 29).

With more than 150 performances on tap, from fan favorite and archival sets from previous years, including international editions and late night performances, the event will highlights causes close to the festival’s mission in between artists.

Among the classic sets from the vaults are ones from LCD Soundsystem, Metallica, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Ellie Goulding, Run The Jewels, Lorde, Alabama Shakes, Tove Lo, Paul McCartney, Chance The Rapper, OutKast and Arcade Fire, among others. There will also be new original live content from Alison Wonderland (Live Set), Carnage, H.E.R., Kali Uchis, Kaskade, Louis the Child, Nghtmre, Pink Sweat$, Saymyname, Tank and the Bangas, The Neighbourhood, Vic Mensa, Yungblud, Zhu and more.

Chicago Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot will pop in throughout the weekend to host conversations with Lolla co-founder Perry Farrell and LL Cool J, with Farrell in the mix chatting with friends including Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich, Public Enemy frontman Chuck D, Matt Pinfield and others. Farrell will also head up a Kind Heaven Orchestra performance featuring Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins, a David Bowie tribute with pianist Mike Garson, the first Porno for Pyros reunion in 24 years, and other surprises.

Lolla is also teaming with a number of organizations to raise awareness for a variety of important causes, including Arts for Illinois Relief Fund, Equal Justice Initiative, When We All Vote and others.

Check out the full lineup below.