Arca's New Album KiCk i: Everything We Know So Far

Artist: Arca

Album: KiCk i

Drop Date: June 26

Tracklist: After releasing “Nonbinary,” Arca has shared the first single from KiCk i, with “Time.” Both songs will appear on the album, which also boasts contributions from Björk, Rosalía, Shygirl, and SOPHIE. You can see the official tracklist below.

1. Nonbinary
2. Time
3. Mequetrefe
4. Riquiqui
5. Calor
6. Afterwards ft. Björk
7. Watch ft. Shygirl
8. KLK ft. Rosalía
9. Rip The Slit
10. La Chíqui ft. SOPHIE
11. Machote
12. No Queda Nada

Artwork: According to Arca, the album artwork consists of portraits taken by various collaborators, as well as paintings, with handwritten calligraphy used for the lettering. The cover image below is by Carlos Sáez, Carlota Guerrero, and Arca.

View this post on Instagram

tHe TiMe iS nOw! ❤️ my new album KiCk i is out digitally june 26💕 listen + preorder via LiNk iN BiO now🚨 ☯️🎶🤍🐾🍒 🎀🌈💽🎤 ha llegado el momento! mi disco nuevo KiCk i saldrá en digital el 26 de junio 💕 pueden escuchar + hacer preorder mediante el link en mi perfil ya! 🎶🐾 🧬💗🌷🥀🕸♾🏳️‍🌈🇻🇪🔜👁‍🗨〰️👁‍🗨 🎊🎀🎐🧪🩸🕳🔬🦠🧫⛓⚖️🧨⚰️🔪📡🎛🕹🌌🗺🚨🎤🎻🎮🎹🎭🍒💦🌈🐾 the artwork in the album is a collection of portraits taken by different collaborators and paintings i have made and then photographed as well as my handwritten calligraphy for the lettering – cover image by @carlossaez1 @carlota_guerrero and myself ⭐️🚨thank u carlota and carlos 🙏🏼 my look features my treasured mechanical legs while the dual-wield claws are wearable sculpture made by Carlos 💖 I want to thank everyone who has helped make it possible for KiCk to exist in the way that it does. The songs on the album were made during such a wide span of my life, it feels moving and surreal to finally be able to say it’s here. Thank you to my fellow mutants who support me and have been there leading up to this moment 💖 🙏🏼 ily uwu :3 💕 • el arte del disco incluye retratos tomados por varios colaboradores incluyendo mi caligrafía a mano y fotografías de cuadros que he pintado durante el proceso de componer el disco. La portada del disco fue una colaboración con @carlota_guerrero y @carlossaez1 ; en la imagen luzco varios tesoros, entre ellas mis patas mecánicas de toa la vida q amo y las dos garras , esculturas sublimes, hechas por @carlossaez1 💖 Quiero darle las gracias a todo el mundo que ha apoyado en el proceso de dar luz a KiCk. He compuesto este disco durante muchas épocas de cambio, por lo q me siento como en un sueño poder decirles q al fin poder anunciarles q ha llegado este momento. Y gracias a todxs mis mutantes q me apoyan tanto 🙏🏼💖 les mucho uwu :3! 🧬 to love in the face of fear, ɐ

A post shared by Doña ⚧ (@arca1000000) on

Editor’s Notes: KiCk i is Arca’s fourth studio album, and the follow-up to her eponymous 2017 LP. The genre-defying effort will center on fluidity and the freedom to express yourself — themes that are very close to the Venezuela-born artist.

“There was a clear intention [on the album] to allow every self to express itself,” she said. “Not to decide how much air time each self would get, but to allow for modulation between them in a spontaneous way. There is no such thing as normal.”

KiCk i is produced by Arca, featuring appearances from Björk, Rosalía, Shygirl, and SOPHIE. According to an official press release, the album blends “bubblegum, harsh noise, electronic psychedelia, balladry, bangers, laughter, tears, passion, and expressions of faith- sounds and ideas that don’t simply blend together, but coexist simultaneously in quantum superposition made possible inside the sonic worlds Arca builds in her music.”

You can listen to the first two tracks from KiCk i — “Nonbinary” and “Time” — below, and pre-order the album here.